Cherry cake


IMG_5714

I’m not really much of a baker, but I had some lovely people who I don’t get to see very often coming round for tea and wanted to make something tasty. And I wanted to do it with just what I had in the house. As it happens, I had loads of fruit, including some juicy cherries, so when I came across this recipe it seemed to fit the bill.

The resulting cake wasn’t going to win any beauty contests, but it turned out light and fruity and it seemed to produce yummy noises all round.

Instead of the sugary crust in the original recipe, I drizzled it with maple syrup, which seemed enough sugar, particularly for Baby Swabey. But I thought it was sweet enough too.

I also ignored the thing about layering the cake mix and the cherries. Or rather I tried to do it but the mixture was far too thick so I gave up and just dumped it back in the bowl and mixed it all up. It turned out fine so next time I’ll just do that in the first instance.

It’s a pretty fail-safe, simple recipe and I could see it working with other fruits. If you have a cherry stoning device thingamabob, I imagine it would be very quick to prepare, too. I don’t, so it took about 15-20 minutes. Although, of course, if the kids had been ‘helping’, it would have taken much, much longer…

Serves: 8

Prep:10-20 minutes

Cook: 60 minutes

  • 175g soft butter
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 175g fresh cherries, or other stone fruit such as apricots, peaches or plums
  • 1-2 tbsp maple syrup
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 160C and line a 900g/2lb loaf tin with baking parchment, or use a greaseproof loaf tin liner.
  2. Wash, stone and chop the fruit into even sized pieces.
  3. Cream the caster sugar with the butter. Fold in the flour. Beat in the eggs and vanilla extract.
  4. Stir in the cherries and spread the cake mix into the prepared tin. Level the top and put in the oven to bake. Check the cake after about 50 minutes as it may take less than an hour to cook, depending on your oven. It is ready when an inserted skewer comes out clean.
  5. Remove the cake from the oven, but leave it in the loaf tin and use a skewer to make holes all over the top. Drizzle the maple syrup over the cake.
  6. Serve with tea or coffee, or with some fresh cream as a dessert.
Leave a Reply

